I love spring, and I love flowers.  Growing up, our yard was choc’ full of roses, flowering bushes, flowering trees, flowers, flowers, flowers.  The lady who had built the house with her husband in the 1930’s became a good friend of ours, and she would show us around the yard naming variety after variety that she had carefully planted and tended for decades.

20150405_124059_Richtone(HDR)

I always loved taking a big ol’ basket and some scissors and going around the yard picking and then arranging vases full of the beauties and setting them around the house.  Unfortunately, I don’t do a whole lot of that these days.  For one thing, our little bungalow doesn’t have many flowers.  I’m working on it, but it takes a while to grow a yard full of flowers.  And second, I just don’t really take the time.

Well, until a couple weeks ago.  On Easter, mom asked me to go around the yard to pick some flowers for the table.  ‘Twas glorious.  Glorious to pick handfuls of flowers and still have plenty left.

20150405_124511_Richtone(HDR)

A couple days later, I visited Lowes and loaded my cart with flowers and plants for the porch.  Because, while I love and plant perennials, they just take too long to get established sometimes.  A bungalow porch needs some annuals and geraniums and ferns, even though they won’t last until next year.

20150402_180325

20150403_152418

And then I visited Lowes again because I needed some of the hyacinths that filled the room with their smell.  And fill the room they did.  I did everything with those hyacinths while they lasted.  I took them to work, I took them back home.  I put them in the library, then the dining room.  I included them in most of my Etsy shop photos that week.  *sigh* They just smell so doggone good.  Christy came over at that time and just held the pot of hyacinths and declared she wasn’t going to put them down.

IMG_4326

But the hyacinths died, and I wasn’t at my parents’ to pick their great bounty of flowers.  So, one night as The Man and I were out walking, I sneaked through the alley behind our neighbor’s house and grabbed a couple branches of lilacs.

20150405_123903_Richtone(HDR)

She’s a nice lady, I’m sure she didn’t mind.

20150409_162312_Richtone(HDR)

They smell just as good as the hyacinths.

IMG_5165

And a girl’s gotta have her flowers, after all.

IMG_4610

