Box_of_doughnuts_(5533414164)

Today when I got to work, my (female) co-workers and I started talking about how a doughnut sounded so yummy.  One of my friends said, “Hey, _________ (male co-worker) is not here yet.  We should text him and ask if he’s late because he’s at the doughnut shop. *Hint, hint*”  So she did.  And we had hopes of this male co-worker bringing doughnuts out of the goodness of his heart.

But he didn’t.

He came in with stories of being at the phone store and his phone crashing and such.  And no doughnuts came with him.  *sigh*

I just couldn’t stop thinking about those delectable, gooey treats though.  When you get your heart set on something, it’s hard to forget it.  So, I went around to everyone and asked if they wanted a doughnut because I was making a run to the doughnut shop.

And our male co-worker said, “Why didn’t you ask me to pick some up?  I was right there.”  Ummmmm………….my female co-workers and I looked at each other.  We did?

Apparently, hinting is not asking.  I do it all the time to My Man, and my female co-worker friend said she does it at home too.  I say, “Boy, this floor is getting dirty.  Someone should vacuum” or “Man, this movie sounds good.”

Finally, after a little slight pouting and telling My Man that he wasn’t doing his fair share of vacuuming or watching my movies led us to the conversation that I have to ASK in plain words and not HINT around.  I thought it was the same.

But, our male co-worker (who ended up paying for the doughnuts) confirmed this.  Men do NOT PICK UP ON HINTS.  So, when marriage gurus say communication is key, it’s not YOUR communication that you should focus on, it’s your spouse’s.  And let me TELL you in plain words, hinting just doesn’t cut it for the men.

Whew.  Glad I got that lesson out of the way.

And the doughnuts were delectable.

