Aaaahhh, the good ol’ potluck church supper.  “Scary” might be the word some people would use.  I say, “delightful, amazing, load my plate down now.”  That’s what I say.

Years ago, we used to have a lot more potluck suppers (in both of the churches that I grew up in).  But, then again, back in those days, the number of church members was about 100 – 200.  Since our church has grown to 700+, the number of potlucks has diminished.

But something has happened in this ol’ church of ours…we are beginning to revive the potluck tradition little by little.  Last night was one of those church revivals, not the walk down the aisle kind but the food kind.

We met for church in the gym, everyone sitting at a table.  We sang and gave testimonies and listened to Pastor’s sermon.  Call me sacrilegious, but what I was really thinking about was the smell of food coming from the kitchen.  It had that “church potluck smell.”  It’s not the smell of one dish or one kind of food.  It’s just that church potluck smell of everything mixing together.  If you’ve ever been to a church potluck, you know what I’m talking about.  If you haven’t, then weep and mourn now.  Weep and mourn.

740px-Potluck06Photo attribution: Nehrams2020

Anyway, my family laughs at how excited I get about these things, but they are truly momentous.  Good grief, there were 63 soups to choose from and almost as many desserts!  Sixty-three!!!  I will admit, some of them you have to be careful about, and some of them you will get and later politely put your napkin over and make an unobtrusive meander to the trashcan.  But out of 63 choices, you are BOUND to get some of them right.

*sigh*  It’s the simple things in life…

