Yippity skippity doo dah day!!!  It’s been a year since our last house update.  A YEAR.  We’ve been working on projects, but they’ve just seemed to take forever.  At least, in my “let’s get it done yesterday” opinion.  (I really need to quit getting all a flutter about such stuff.)

Anyway, in the midst of renovating the family room, I had the urge to re-do the front porch.  It wasn’t really that bad, but afterwards, well, it makes me smile every time I come home, and I’m so glad we did it.  AND, it was a relatively quick project!  A nice change from the drawn out ones.

So, here it is!

A little before and after:

PicMonkey CollagePicMonkey Collageend PicMonkey Collageend 2PicMonkey Collagefront

A little more “before”:

Cleaning up the front and putting in flowers…

DSC07396

DSC09826

Tearing off the vinyl ceiling to find the beautiful blue bead board and tearing off the ugly tin to find perfectly wonderful wood pillars.  Seriously, WHY do people cover things like this up with cheap stuff from Lowes?!

DSC09927

DSC09925

And this is what happens when a weed eater picks up a rock and flings it into your glass door.  Good thing I didn’t want it anyway.  So much for selling it on Craigslist though.

IMG_8136

The “before I start painting” pictures.

IMG_8218

IMG_8226

IMG_8228

I can paint, but trying to figure out angles makes me start to twitch.  I tried doing it alone and wound up NOWHERE.  Aaaaaand, that’s why My Man is so wonderful.  His mind works that way, and he had the diagonals laid out in no time.

20140904_183929

I was planning on putting up a railing all the way around.  Caleb didn’t like the idea though because it would block off access.  And thinking back to gatherings we’ve had where everyone likes to sit on the edge, I finally came to the conclusion that he was right.  (Don’t think my idea went down without a fight though.  But some ideas eventually need to go down.  And smart men need to win once in a while.)

DSC07674

DSC07679

And the “after” pictures.  I do so love sitting out there (the one or two times I’ve managed to do it).

IMG_9646

IMG_9644

IMG_9640

IMG_9658

IMG_9638

IMG_9666

IMG_9662

IMG_9660

IMG_9684

IMG_9672

With all the renovating and decorating and stuff, my number one goal is to make our home inviting to family and friends.  A pretty house is pretty empty by itself.  I want our home to be welcoming and a place of refuge.

IMG_9691

