Last week, I worked as a counselor for our church’s Jr. Camp in Ottawa, KS.  This was my seventh or eighth year to counsel at this great camp.

Seeing that it was 3 1/2 days in the middle of July in the middle of Kansas, I say I fared pretty well.  The temperature was very bearable (praise the Lord), and the AC in the buildings worked splendidly.

I had a fabulous group of girls.   And my co-counselor was amazing and experienced in all things camp.  I’ve known her for quite a few years, but it was great to get to know her past the “hi, how are you” at church.

DSC08224

Oh, and this was really like a family reunion of sorts.  Mom was the nurse.

DSC08201

Matthew was operational staff.

Matthew many moons ago

Matthew many moons ago

Matthew now

Matthew now

Grace was a counselor.   And, no, this isn’t the first year I’ve been a counselor with one of my past campers.  Still makes me feel slightly old though.

Grace many moons ago

Grace many moons ago

 

Grace now

Grace now

Ellie and Aaron were campers.

DSC08219 DSC08200

Ok, so I’m going to be honest here.  I didn’t really enjoy it.  There.  I said it.  Never have I not enjoyed the week of Jr. Camp…except for this year.  I had a great group of girls; everyone there was fun and friends of mine; memories were made; everything went PERFECTLY.  But I wanted to be home.  With My Man.  I told him he has ruined me as far as going away from him.  ‘Tis pitiful, and I was mad at myself the whole time for not being able to get out of the funk.  I tried.  Anyway…that being said, I am glad that I went, for, as I said, memories were made and everything went PERFECTLY.

DSC08205

Oh, and the mother of one of my camper girls came up to me the Sunday after we returned and told me of a conversation she overheard of her two girls…

Daughter 1 (my camper):  “Tammy and Jennifer are the BEST.COUNSELORS.EEEEVEEERR!!!”

Daughter 2:  “I thought you didn’t want to be in their cabin because they were so old.”

Daughter 1:  “I was wrong.  They are the BEST.COUNSELORS.EEEEVEEEER!!!!”

Guess I’m now old, but as long as I’m still cool, I guess the old part is ok.  🙂

 

