After going to bed at 8:30 the night before, the world looked a whole lot better to this weary traveler.  The sun was bright, the birds chirping, the flowers blooming and the day ready to be tackled.

So, off we headed to the grandest of all grand palaces – Versailles.  We traveled the train and followed the hoards of like-minded tourists and skipped the ticket lines because of pre-purchased tickets (bless the internet’s little heart).

DSC04522

DSC04531

DSC04534

And we took pictures and more pictures and oo-ed and aw-ed and convinced Matthew that, yes, he DID need to pose for another picture and that he might as well get used to it.

 

DSC04544

DSC04550

DSC04566

DSC04554

I adore touring our great Yoo-nited States, but to see places that are centuries upon centuries old, well, that is an experience all its own.  Though the furnishings aren’t original, everything else is, and to say that I’ve seen the same things as Louis the XIV and all those other numbered Louis, that makes me stand in awe.

DSC04539

We joined the gobs of people pushing and clicking their cameras away.  Here we are in the grand hall of mirrors, which was grand except for the mirrors  – they were kind of cloudy and dusty, but whatever impress those French Louis kings I guess impresses me.

DSC04559

As we walked in the gardens (a walk that took far too long because of our attempt on a “shortcut”), they had classical music a-playin’ away.  Kind of cool…and then we back-tracked from the “shortcut” and then used the real path to find the coolest part of all…

DSC04587

DSC04588

Marie Antionette’s little farming village built for the sole purpose of her getting away from the court and living like a “normal” person.  Yes, I like her tastes.  ‘Twas soooo very peaceful and beautiful and peaceful and lacking of hoards of tourists.

DSC04591

DSC04596

DSC04603

DSC04609

DSC04611

DSC04629

We knew that Matthew really liked it too because, for the first time, he broke out his camera and took picture after picture.

DSC04605

DSC04615

And all the animals – well, I felt like my mom.  “Mirror, mirror, on the wall, I am my mother after all.”  We have given mom a terrible time throughout the years about animal pictures, and what do I do?  Take gobs of animal pictures, that’s what.

DSC04618

DSC04632

DSC04640

DSC04641

DSC04642

DSC04650

So, after our very wonderful outing to Versailles and Marie Antionette’s village, we traveled on the train to another mansion – except this time, it was an abandoned mansion with only memories of grandeur.  I found it online.  It’s the Edmund Rothschild mansion in a public park that once used to be the estate.  Abandoned mansions have such charm too.  This one may have been quiet a bit more difficult to get to (I shall leave it at that in order not to implicate myself and my fellow travelers – but it was an adventure!)

DSC04657

DSC04659

DSC04661

DSC04663

DSC04666

And after that slightly painful, memorable time at the abandoned Rothschild mansion, we boarded our train and headed back to the city.  A quick stopover to the Arch de Triumphe, a arduous climb to the top and a beautiful sunset view of Paris completed our day of adventuring.  Good thing too because my camera battery was dead.

DSC04667

DSC04668

DSC04669

Disclaimer:  Yes, my poor little camera has a stupid little black spot on the lens from whence it came I know not.

 

 

 

