I must go back several months to begin the story of the lost piano.  You see, we have a piano, and I am very thankful for it.  I went a while without one, and trying to practice a piece to play at church while not having a piano is quite unhandy.  Also, the piano we have was given to me and hauled over for free by some very kind friends.  So, I am not complaining about this blessing in the least.

Except that it is horrible.  It’s twangy and quiet because of how out of tune it is.  I took off the front just so it would have a little louder sound, but even that didn’t really help out, and it certainly didn’t do anything for the looks.

I teach piano to three students once a week (on my parent’s piano, bless it’s beautiful sound), and Caleb agreed to my plan that this money earned would be put into a piano fund.  Slowly the piano fund grew, not enough to purchase a brand spankin’ new piano, but it grew just the same.

As that piano fund grew, I began to casually search Craigslist.  And I’m sort of picky.  If we’re going to spend hard saved money on a piano, it’s gotta be a Yamaha – they’re the best, and this will probably be our “forever” piano.

I searched one day just to kill some time, and I found the most beautiful baby grand Yamaha piano that a girl could ever dream of.  Not only have I longed for a Yamaha, but I’ve secretly dreamed that a baby grand piano would someday ask me to take it home.  This one was askin’, let me tell you.  And the price?  Well, the price was incredible.  I had half the money saved.  I thought and thought and figured out different ways to make it work.  And it would work, just beautifully.

yamaha-pianos9via

Well, thinking out how it would work takes a little bit of time.  I asked a fellow piano appreciator his opinion, and he said, “Jump on it.”  So I clicked the contact button on Craigslist, already coming up in my mind with a good, sound case to present to The Man.

I clicked on the “contact” button.  I clicked again…and again.  I refreshed the page, in a slight panic…NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!  Yes, it was true.  The ad had at that very moment been taken off.  I KNOW that good deals must be jumped on, yet I hadn’t jumped, and someone else had.

I cried.

And I pouted.  And moped.  And whined to The Man about how STUPID I was.

…fast forward to three days later.  The moping and crying was over, but the sadness still lingered.  That Sunday, I talked with my dear niece Grace about her many plans this year.  In the back of my mind, I thought of the trip to visit a certain city that we had discussed for years.  But she is busy with a missions trip and college plans this fall and all sort of busyness.  And I was busy with life.  I thought it was a dream that would have to be put off for another decade.

But then she emailed me the next day saying that she would still be willing to consider that trip of ours if I would be willing.  I was willing.  The Man was willing.  (Side note here, The Man is SUCH a DEAR when it comes to me doing things.  Never a question, never an argument – when I have a dream, he supports it without fail.)

So several of us talked and discussed and prayed about this pipe dream of ours – could we make it a reality?

Well, as of today, it is a reality.  The plans are set in motion.  The trip will be taken.  It involves three people – Me, Grace and Matthew (The Nephew)…

DSC00076

…and a city.

398px-Eiffel_trocadero_i“Photo: J.M. Schomburg”

Yes, we are going to Paris!  And for different reasons, we are leaving in three weeks from today.  Crazy, I know.

Now, you may ask why I rambled on about a lost piano at the beginning.  I’ll tell you why.  It’s because that money that would have been spent on that gorgeous musical baby, is funding my trip.  Coincidence that I missed out on the Craigslist deal?  I don’t think so.

I kick and squirm and complain about discomforts in the moment when God knows that it will work out “more than we can ask or think” in the end.

He knows that I will have many other chances to buy things, but the chance to buy memories will pass quickly by.

