I have lived in our dear little bungalow for one year one month and four days and had only spoken with one neighbor a couple times.

It doesn’t seem like an abnormal thing to not talk with your neighbors.  We dart in and out of our house.  When it warms up, we work outside, hoping that a wave and a smile will ward off any overly-friendly old lady next door.

Well, I have determined that I need to get to know those old ladies next door and whoever else doesn’t try to ward off my overly-friendliness by waving and smiling.  I determined this approximately one year and twenty-seven days ago.  But I didn’t do anything about it.

Why?  Cause I was skeered.  And because as an over-achieving all or nothing type of person, I decided to visit ALL the neighbors at once.  So my being skeered was multiplied by A LOT.

But then it snowed on Sunday, and church was canceled, and we had the most glorious long, relaxing day at home.  This WOULD be the day.  I baked cookies.  And I put those cookies on little plates and bundled up in a very fashionable manner – makeup free, hair pulled back in a I-don’t-have-to-go-anywhere way, sweatpants on and baggy sweatshirt and coat with boots.  I go visiting the neighbors in style.

800px-Plate_of_cookies(sarah fleming)

I just went to two houses across the street, and the two little old ladies invited me in and thanked me profusely for the cookies, and we chatted for a while.  It was a bit nerve wracking to cross that big ol’ street by myself and knock on strangers’ doors, but the deed is done, and I was very glad that I did it.

Lately, I have really been convicted of my lack of involvement in people’s lives (those that don’t attend our church).  God wants me to be a blessing to those around me, yet I hole up in my home or at church and miss every opportunity to be a friend, make a practical difference, and reflect who Jesus is to me.

I look forward to getting to know these ladies better and visiting more neighbors in the future.

And I’ll probably consider dressing up a bit next time.

