Early on in my quest to replacing expensive, store bought products with simple yet effective homemade solutions, I ran across the “Oil Cleansing Method.”  It was so simple, so effective and so cheap!  I think that’s what sold me on the idea that I could manufacture many personal products in my very own kitchen.

It’s the Oil Cleansing Method and is exactly what it sounds like – using oil to clean your face.  (Come to think of it, Mom used to use baby oil for makeup remover.  Hmmm, could this be a tried and true method from before Pinterest days?)  Yes, I know the idea is crazy…the whole idea behind the cleansers is to remove oil, but did you know that oil effectively fights oil?  Aaaand, if you remove too much oil from your face, then your face gets back at you by producing MORE OIL.

olive_oil

I was skeptical at first, but since it was so easy, I decided to try it.  Now, several years later, I am several dollars richer (from not having to buy cleansers) and much, much happier.  Here’s the recipe:

Facial Cleanser/Makeup Remover

Olive Oil

Castor Oil (I buy it from Amazon here)

Small bottle

I mix 2/3 olive oil (you can use other oils like jojoba, sunflower, etc) and 1/3 castor oil.  The castor oil cleanses; the olive oil moisturizes.  Dampen wash cloth with hot water.  Moisten face, use about a quarter-size amount of oil, and wash off with wash cloth, letting the wash cloth rest on your face for several seconds to steam your face.

Yep, that’s it!  Depending on your face type, you can experiment and change the ratio or type of oil for more or less moisturizing/cleansing.  (If you really want to learn more about it, this is a good article.  She says never to use olive oil.  I’ve never had a problem, but everybody’s different.)

Seriously, this is soooo simple, soooooo effective and sooooo cheap – it makes me one very happy girl!

