This semester, Caleb is taking a college class titled “Men and Masculinities.” Be still my fluttering heart – all those masculine men!

Exceeeept that’s it’s not.  It should be titled “Those Bad, Bad Masculine Men” or “All Those Men You Just Thought Were Masculine.”  Yes, the teacher’s very first example of a man who was forced to portray masculinity by society but who REALLY WAS NOT MASCULINE was…(are you ready for this?)…JOHN WAYNE.  Apparently, John Wayne was actually more feminine than masculine because he a.) Liked to wear nice suits, b.) Didn’t ride horses in his free time and c.) His real name was Marion (which is a feminine name).

Careful of that fancy suit there, John, errr, I mean Marion

Careful of that fancy suit there, John, errr, I mean Marion

I Kid.You.Not.

I’m thinkin’ that if John Wayne is the best argument you have for feminine men, you have got a serious problem. 19463-John-Wayne

I feel sorry for these people who go out of their way to de-masculinate men.  (If de-masculinate were actually a word.)  *sigh*  Because it’s so VERY nice to have men around, especially super sexy, masculine men.

IMG_4359

Case in point (or several cases in point):

        ~ I hate putting my car in the garage.  It’s not difficult.  I just hate it.  Therefore, I pull into the driveway and park.  The next morning…

                    …it’s just happened that my car is nicely put away in the garage.

       ~ I often accidentally leave my keys in the front door.  I did it while living in Washington, DC, and, I guess, I still do it.  I wouldn’t really know because…

                     …it’s just happened that my keys are in my purse later.

        ~ I always forget my phone.  Always.  But I don’t have to anymore because…

                    …it’s just happened that my phone is in my purse when I get to work or on my nightstand when I go to bed.

        ~ I get up at 5:30 twice a week to go to Zumba.  I whine and cry about “getting up so early when I’m so tiiIIIIIiiired.”  But it only takes me 10 minutes to get ready because…

                    …it’s just so happened that my water bottle is by the door, my phone is in my purse and my car is warming up by the curb.

DSC04344

And these are just a few, very small things amongst many.

Could I do all these things myself and be a strong, independent, “I don’t need a man” woman?  Sure.  But, seriously, what is the fun in that?

