Snow has blessed us with its presence for the past week.  ‘Tis everywhere, and it’s beautiful, and it’s what I luv about winter.  I’m not ready for it to be over quite yet, but before we know it, the birds will be singing, and the flowers will be poking their heads out of the wet ground, and I will be squealing with delight for singing birds and poking flowers.

signs-of-spring-leah-willeyvia

And with spring comes spring cleaning (ooooooor NOT).  One cleaning thing I’ll know I’ll do with the coming of spring is clean windows – not every.single.window.in.the.house, mind you, just various ones here and there.  Cleaning them in winter is a story all it’s own.  Please tell me I’m not the only one to spray down an entire glass door only to have it all instantly freeze?

s3_photovia

Why am I droning on and on about cleaning?  WELL, it’s ’cause I’m so excited about another homemade vs. store bought win in the cleaning department.  Yes, homemade WINDOW CLEANER!

Honestly, I hate cleaning windows because the streaks left afterwards are more frustrating than the dirt or hand prints that were there in the first place.  Not even the name brands could seem to do the trick just right.  And, again, some of those Pinterest window cleaner recipes were little better than straight water.

But, boy howdy, this homemade stuff is the real deal.  I’m not saying that it will never streak a day in your life, but it certainly keeps up with (if not surpasses) anything I’ve used before.  (Oh, and as a side note, most of the cleaners and such are, by necessity, water.  Pretty sure I can get my own water super duper cheap at home, so these “recipes” are cheap, cheap, cheap!)

Homemade-Window-Cleaner-1via

Disclaimer:  I did not come up with this recipe, but I honestly can’t remember where I found it.

Window Cleaner

1 c. water

2 tablespoons vinegar (I use white)

2 tablespoons alchohol (the stuff in the medicine cabinet)

1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch

Essential oil like lemon, orange or lavender, optional

Mix everything in a spray bottle and clean away!  I’ve also used it for a light duty all purpose cleaner.  Oh, and write in sharpie the recipe directly on the bottle so you’s don’t have to keep lookin’ it up.

Oh, and another cheap-o blessing?  Newspapers instead of paper towels or rags – they actually work better!

IMG_5877via

So that is one more chemically, expensive cleaner knocked out of my life forever.  Blesses my soul every time.

