Today I am wearing a big chunky sweater in anticipation of all the snow that is in the forecast and shopping for flower seeds.

All these photos are in my garden at mom and dad's house, but I can't take credit for the talented photo taking skills.  The amazing Matthew H. and my mom did that

All these photos are in my garden at mom and dad’s house, but I can’t take credit for the talented photo taking skills. The amazing Matthew H. and my mom did that

While I’m lovin’ the winter weather, I’m also preparing for SPRING!!  Ah, Spring, my heart doth beat for thee!  A couple years ago, I ran across the idea of winter sowing seeds in “mini greenhouses.”  I’ve tried planting seeds indoors, and it will be an experience I will never ever repeat.  Ever.  But sowing them outside in the winter in milk jugs?  Sounds crazy, but it works, and it’s simple.  And simple agrees with this girl.  (Here’s a full explanation of the process:  http://www.agardenforthehouse.com/2012/11/winter-sowing-101-6/)

IMG_0485

The other day, I was perusing the internet and ran across the winter sowing blog.  It hit me at that moment that I need to start planting those little seeds NOW since it is, ya’ know, winter.  So, I’m busy browsing for flower seeds online and collecting milk jugs in which to sow them.  It’s so very difficult to trim down the number of selections in my shopping cart.  I have visions of sweet peas and larkspur, hollyhocks and delphinium, penstemon and lupine filling our yard.   At this rate, I’ll be able to furnish a full-size flower shop!

IMG_0509

It makes me happy to think of all the possibilities.  Last year, I was a tad bit busy with starting a new chapter in life, so winter sowing seeds wasn’t even an option.  That gives me enough excuse this year to go a wee bit overboard in the seed ordering.  (At least that’s what I tell myself now…ask me in a couple months when I actually have to transplant all those seedling.)

IMG_0520

 

