Aaaaah, January, 2014.  The “new year” has come.  Christmas decorations are put away; the house is organized; everything is tidy, ship-shape, serene…………………….

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!  Not so much.

But you know what?  I like our messy house.  Sure, I like a clean and organized and peaceful home as much as the next person, but our messy house, well, our messy house stands up and shouts, “THIS IS PROGRESS, FOLKS!”

For us, a messy house means life is back to normal…our normal life of remodeling.  I like normal.  Normal makes me feel all warm and cozy and ooey, gooey inside.  So, here are a few pictures of our normal life of remodeling.  We decided that our family room is the next project to tackle, so that’s just what we’ve been doing the last couple of weeks.  Instead of doing a whole slew of “Before and After” pictures at the very end, I’ll be chronicling this room as we go.  (Hopefully, it will be a short chronicle.)

This is the before of both ends of the room.

IMG_4303

IMG_4304

And this is what the room looked like as of last Saturday.  See?  It’s MESSY!!!!  I do so love that messy messier look.

IMG_4356

Caleb is building stairwell walls, because though having a basement is a blessing, having the basement door on the ground in a outdoor cellar door-like fashion?  Not so much.

And I had to put this picture in because, siiiiiiigh, he’s SOOOOO handsome…and strong.

IMG_4359

The next time I “chronicle” this room, I hope to have stairwell walls and paint and duct work in the ceiling!  (Yes, they built the room with no heating or air, those silly people.)

When it’s all said and done, we will have a entertainment area (TV, etc) on one end, and the other end?  Hmmm, I’m pushing for a pool table.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see!

