Gift giving takes thought.  Will they like it?  Do they need it?  Is it too much?  Is it too little?  Sometimes I spend hours thinking of a “perfect” gift.

Some of the best presents I have received are the ones that someone and bought because they KNEW me.  Sometimes it was elaborate; sometimes it was simple.  What mattered was that it wasn’t a gift of duty.  It was a gift of love.

The first Christmas gift Caleb gave to me when we were dating was a snowflake necklace.  He bought it because I go CRAZY when it snows.  He KNEW I would love it.

8433341_fpx

But as much as I love and wear his gift, it’s not the most perfect one I’ve ever received.  The most perfect gift I received was in July, 1997.  I guess you could call it Christmas in July.  You see, that is the moment I actually received (or unwrapped) God’s gift – Jesus Christ.  God had given it thousands of years ago, but it meant diddly squat until I actually “opened” and accepted The Present.

But just like paying cash for Caleb’s gift of love would have been inappropriate, paying with “good works” for God’s gift of Jesus would have been absurd.  How can you put a price on love?  How much is enough?  Would the Giver not be completely insulted at such an offer?

So, when you get right down to it, if you strip away all the blessings that I write about, if they all ended today, I would still have the most amazing blessing and the most perfect gift of all – Jesus Christ and complete security in the fact that He has forgiven all my sins.

Merry Christmas!!!!

John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

baby-jesus-in-manger1

