Ok, so I didn’t write a blog post about Aaaaalllll my daily BlEESssings yesterday because, frankly, I was in a bad mood.  And I didn’t feel like being thankful.  And I was busy.  And sour.  So there.

December has always been a busy month for our family.  Five family birthdays and “must do” Christmas traditions and gifts to squeeze into the calendar, it is the traditional hectic holiday season.  But it is fun, and in pre-married life I had it down to a science where it actually wasn’t go, go, go all the time.  Well, this is post-married life, and I forgot that “his” and “my” schedule had become “our” schedule.  Therefore, we are book.ed. solid.

I like being home.  And this week, I’ve left the house around 8:00 AM and returned approximately around 9:00 PM for three days in a row.  Yesterday, I vented to The Man.  “I messed up by scheduling too much, and our first December together is going to be AWFUL, and I’m tired of going places, and I don’t have time to even fold the laundry, do the dishes, clean the house, put away the Christmas boxes, and I, I, I…!”  He listened, and said “But we want to do each of these activities; we aren’t forced to do them.  And our first Christmas isn’t AWFUL.”  I hate when he points out the obvious.  I like my pity parties.

DSC04181

Yesterday afternoon, we did something to further prove the point that life is good and pity parties are bad.  We visited the residents of a nursing home to hand out poinsettias and spread a little Christmas cheer to those who are in true need of a little happiness in their lives.  Visiting normal people trapped in old, crippled, infirmed bodies really puts everything in perspective.  They would probably like to be out going and doing this season.  I must be thankful for the blessing of the freedom to “go and do.”

And last night after getting home close to 9:00 PM, My Man and I curled up on the couch next to the Christmas tree, snuggled under a blanket and watched our favorite show.  It was another moment in time to enjoy.  I must grasp each memorable moment instead of wishing for more.

IMG_4139

