Think about your family – the good, bad and the ugly.  Then think about holidays without them.  It just wouldn’t be the same.  Thankfully, I have always had family who make holidays extra fun, who make the holiday.  Going to both Grandmas’ houses was a special holiday tradition, one that we practiced every single Thanksgiving and Christmas.

So here’s a short trip down Thanksgiving memory lane at Grandma and Grandpa Bland’s house.  The lane that went over the river and through the woods…

Oh, the hours we spent in this room – waking up on the couch to the smell of turkey, stretched out on the floor watching the Thanksgiving parade, falling asleep to the sound of football after dinner.  Grandma always stretched out the dining room table here where most of the family sat.  I say most…I don’t think I ever sat here – my niece Grace, the firstborn great-grandchild sat there, but I was at the kids’ table in the kitchen my entire life.  No worries, my cousins and sister and I decided we had more fun in there.

43 Bland living room

 

This was around 1992, I believe.  It snowed just before Thanksgiving, and dad took me outside to make this dirty but wonderful snowman.  After that, we hopped into the car to drive the four hours to Grandma’s.  The roads were terrible, the car went through the median once, the trip stretched on for more like 6 or 7 hours, but we made it.  Good thing too because we had the turkey!

August 2008 124

That same year, my grandparents had had TONS of snow.  Grandpa hooked up the huge long toboggan behind the tractor, at least 5 or 6 of us piled on, and we headed out to the snow-covered pasture.  You have NEVER fully experienced a doughnut (we called them kitties) until you’ve done it on a toboggan behind a tractor in a pasture.

tractorvia

Oh, and one can’t write a Thanksgiving post about Grandma Bland without mentioning her ‘nana puddin’.  It was in a special bowl.  It was one of those “expected” desserts.  It was always immediately devoured.  (Unfortunately, I don’t have a picture of the “real” thing.)

bananavia

These days, we’re busy making new wonderful Thanksgiving memories.  But I’ll always treasure Thanksgiving at Grandma and Grandpa Bland’s house.

28

Live fully.

