So on Monday, I was privileged to be able to speak at the Derby Veteran’s Day celebration about my grandpa’s service and the book I wrote about him.  I enjoy the different events that this book has given me the opportunity to speak at, but events specifically geared toward veterans is SUCH a treat.

You have the Patriot Guard biker veterans from Vietnam, decked out in their patch covered, leather jackets.

IMG_3640

You have the current servicemen and women dressed (in this case) in their Air Force uniforms.

IMG_3622

You have the young ROTC cadets ready to do anything they are asked to do in a stiff, by the book, and, yes, a little bit cocky, manner.

Yes, I had had my hand over my heart during the pledge.  It was down because that's what the Lt. Colonel beside me did, and I assumed he knew when to salute and when not to.

Yes, I had had my hand over my heart during the pledge. It was down because that’s what the Lt. Colonel beside me did, and I assumed he knew when to salute and when not to.

You have the normal guy who blends into the crowd until asked to stand up as a veteran.

That "normal guy" on the left is my daddy

That “normal guy” on the left is my daddy

And then you have the sprinkling of World War II veterans, wearing old caps stating their military units.  Some of them sit in wheel chairs; some of them need help in their struggle to stand; and some of them are still active and spry (as one 82 year old lady told me the other day, “He is 90 going on 75.”  Ummmm, is that a reference to his being young?  I guess 75 is the new spring chicken.  🙂 )

IMG_3602

We almost beat the cold front that was coming in.  I listened and spoke and tried not to wiggle around because of the cold.  (Because I wiggle when I’m cold.)

IMG_3626And, of course, the fambly came – the sisters and parents and all the nieces and nephews.

IMG_3659

IMG_3612

‘Twas a good day.  Days like this need to be remembered and appreciated and celebrated.

(Oh, and many thanks to my dear mother for all the pictures!)

