“It may be the last time.”  If I were to pick a life mantra, this would be it.  In fact, I put those words on my phone screen as a reminder.  Last time for what?  Well, just about anything.

The phrase came to me as a idea worth remembering years ago when I was vacuuming.  I think I was a bit disgruntled about having to lower myself to do such a mundane task.  Grandma and Grandpa Bland were living with us (my parents and me) at the time – Grandma was bedridden after suffering a double amputation of her legs.  I hit me like a ton of bricks.  “I bet grandma would love to be vacuuming right now.  Careful of what you wish for, Tammy.  It may be the last time you can do this…”

It’s kind of a morbid beginning to this phrase but no less true.  Do I really want the possible last time I speak to my husband to be full of whining or anger?  What if I lost my job today?  Would I have enjoyed the benefits of work to their fullest so that there would be no regrets when they came to an end?

Proverbs 27:1 says, “Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring forth.”  Life changes…All.The.Time.  I want to live fully here and now, so that future days aren’t spoiled by the thought of wishing about the past.

I certainly haven’t mastered this idea.  There are more than a few wasted moments of self pity or complaining or ungratefulness.  But sometimes, just sometimes, I try to stop and think…”It may be the last time.”  Appreciate the simple and the glorious blessings of today.

 

Disclaimer:  The ads that sometimes appear below these posts are placed here by WordPress.  I DO NOT endorse them, and I encourage you not to click on them.  Thanks!!!

