I love old movies.  LOVE them.  Not that I don’t enjoy new movies, for they are good, and I watch them often.  But when you think of your childhood and the movies that comfort (you know the ones you want to watch when your sick or sad or for that good “feeling”), I think of John Wayne and Jimmy Stewart, Grace Kelley and Audrey Hepburn.  *sigh*  There’s just something magical about that era, at least for me.

john wayne  stewartGrace_Kelly_-_High_Societyaudrey hepburn

But there is a movie (and an actress) that holds a special place in my heart.

tammy

It was a love passed down to me from my mother.  She loved Debbie Reynolds so much that she named her cow “Debbie,” and she named her child…well, you know.  (My name wasn’t entirely because of the movie, just partly.)

tammy2

pete

My grandparents owned the video, and I watched it every time we visited.  I memorized the song and sang it often.  We had it played as Caleb and I walked out of the church at our wedding.  Yes, I’ve always been told that “Tammy’s in love.”

both

So, a couple weeks ago, imagine my delight as our pastor’s wife came up to me and said, “I found this a while back and have been meaning to give it to you.”  It was an original copy of the sheet music from Tammy and the Bachelor.  Not only was I touched by her thoughtfulness, I was beyond excited about the gift.

music

So, go ahead, listen to the song here.  And if you haven’t watched the movie, do.  Right away.

