I think everyone knows the feeling.  A friend or acquaintance or even a complete stranger comes up to you with a smile and says, “Could you __________ ?”  Now I’ll say that helping out at church or with family or even the various school fund raisers is a good thing if that’s what you should be doing.  However, often I say “yes” out of guilt or fear that people will think less of me or be disappointed in me or fear that I’ll miss out on something fun.  I read a blog one time (and I wish I could remember which one it was) that said something like, “Every time you say “yes” to one thing, you are saying “no” to something else.”

The power of “no” is a blessed thing, one that I’ll continually be learning.  But when I do implement the word in life there is such freedom that comes!  There are a million good and great activities to be involved in.  My problem?  Trying to do it all.  I want to be the perfect full-time working woman who is a continually pleasant wife who gets all her groceries practically free from couponing who renovates her 113 old repo house in record time who stays fully involved in many church activities who is there for every family event who can run a profitable side business who regularly eats well and goes to the gym and who improves her mind through reading five books every month (just to name a few wants).  Yeah, it ain’t happenin’.

Recently, I’ve cut back in a couple areas that were wonderful but brought me to exhaustion.  Yes, I still sometimes get the guilty feeling that I’ve disappointed someone, but I’m pretty sure that those people are completely fine.  And those moments stressfully dedicated to a “good deed” are now being spent more satisfied and content, and that’s a blessing to everyone.

