They can mean so much, those little words of ours.

We went over to Caleb’s parent’s to celebrate Labor Day.  Once again, they had a house full of friends and family and laughter and food and homemade ice cream.  Brian (Caleb’s dad) had told me earlier to bring some of my books so I could have a “book signing.”  I laughed and said ok.

He was quite serious though.  During the evening, he asked, “Did you sell some books yet?” and then go to some of the men there and mention it to them.  And he was quite adamant that he didn’t want the ebook version, he wanted to buy an actual copy for himself and have me sign it “To my favorite father-in-law,” which he is, which I did.  🙂

Well, thanks to Brian, I did indeed hold a book signing that evening after all.  (It actually turned out better than one or two of my planned signings.)  As we packed up to go home, I handed over Brian’s book to him with a word of thanks for the evening.  He gave me a hug and said, “I’m proud of you.”

Yes, never underestimate the power of little words.

