Isn’t it amazing how things work out better than you ever thought they could?  I do believe there’s a Bible verse saying just that.  Eph. 3:20, Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think…”  Well, I am here to say that it is so true.

I was planning for the book signing tour in Hays and Quinter several weeks ago.  Things were going along the normal route, set up the event; talk to the contact person at each location; get the local newspaper information and send press releases about the event.  Now, I’ve had mixed reception as far as newspapers go.  Some papers (typically in the small towns) get excited, do stories, and such, but most shove the information to the “Eh, not really news” pile.  I completely understand the latter reaction because in the whole scheme of worldly news, it really isn’t the type of thing that would interest the majority of the population.

So like I said, I sent the press releases like normal, but didn’t expect anything to come of them.  Well, on my follow up call to one of the media outlets, I said, “Hello, this is Tammy Zimmerman…”  The man’s immediate reply was, “I am so glad you called!  I’ve been meaning to get in touch with you!”  I really don’t know how he knew who I was because it turns out that he hadn’t received the press release…yet another way God works mysteriously.

To make a long story just a little shorter, the week before the signing in Hays, this man set up a pre-book signing radio interview over the phone and story on their website.  He also asked if I could stay the following Monday for a television interview.  “Weeeeellll, let me check my schedule…um, yes.”  He called back later and said, “Oh, since you’ll be staying for the TV interview, would you also be willing to do a live radio interview in the morning?”

Well, Sunday night, I went to bed  not really looking forward to the next morning.  A.) I had to get up at 5:45 to be over to the radio station.  B.)  I was extremely tired from the fun but exhausting weekend.   And C.)  I reached the point where I just wanted to be home.

Monday morning came, I sat up and whined to Caleb that I was tired and just wanted to go home.  Well, being the wonderful husband that he is, he told me he was going to the interview with me.  That made me so ooey and gooey inside because he isn’t a morning person and his allergy medication had taken its toll earlier.  (As a side note, mom came to our room and said that she was going to go with me.  Again, I felt so blessed that she was willing to give up her sleep and time to do that!  She stayed back though since Caleb was going.)  Ok, back to the story…

We arrived at the station, and I actually started to get excited.  The people there were so nice and made me feel immediately relaxed.  After waiting for the right point in the morning program (and hearing the radio announcement , “And when we come back, we will hear from author Tammy Zimmerman”), Scott came to get us.  We all chatted a little bit until the ads were over and then we just talked about the book.  It was easy!  It was a ton of fun!

DSC00363

That afternoon, we headed on over for the TV interview.  The co-host, Mike, from the radio show conducted the TV interview.  Again, it was fun and relaxed, and they made me feel completely at ease (ok, not as at ease as the radio one because there was this thing called a camera…but it still was good).

DSC00366

DSC00368

DSC00370

I have come to the realization that I like radio and TV interviews!  Stepping outside the box can be so eye opening and fun.  Yet another day of God’s blessings.

