There have been several things lately that have made me reflect on the Christian upbringing that I received.  First, the Believing God workbook by Beth Moore that I’ve been doing through the summer had the reader divide her life into fifths.  Each day, the workbook had you answer questions like,

“What, if any, is your spiritual heritage?”

“Who had the most impact on early seeds of Christian growth?”

“Were you exposed to any religious education?”

“Can you see any ways Christ revealed Himself or showed any level of activity?”

“What pivotal events occurred?”  and “What was the most powerful life lesson God taught?”

When I broke down the events of my life over the course of two weeks, I grew more and more clear to me how blessed I am that God gave me the upbringing that I had.  It’s good to reflect on all the blessings that we take for granted.  You know, dad might not have become a Christian; my parents might not have stayed married; they might not have changed their mind about having “Just two kids.”   (Then where would we be?  You would miss me, you know you would.  🙂 )

Another moment of reflection occurred tonight as Caleb and I were driving for several hours.  We got on the subject of Christians who don’t look like our version of “Christians.”  He has a co-worker he believes is a Christian, albeit, a Christian who doesn’t wrap up in our pretty box.  I also mentioned to him a girl that used to come to our church and Awana.  She accepted Christ but I imagine that through the ungodly influence of her home, she will most likely grow up to make “un-Christian” choices in life.  (And then again, maybe she won’t.)

There is good and evil, to be sure.  There is right and wrong.  But how can I, with the blessed Christian education given me, look down on others’ Christian walk simply because God chose not to have their upbringing or life look like mine?  We will not all look the same, we will not all act the same, but we will all struggle in one area or another – my struggle will be different than theirs, but not better or worse.

Yes, today (and every day) I’m extremely grateful for the strong Biblical foundation God (and my parents) blessed me with.  I am trying to use that blessing as a way to glorify my Father, not to tear down and judge my Brother.

