My seestors and nieces came over last night to visit.  ‘Twas a lovely evening.  I arrived home from work and the grocery store, as the most beautiful rain was falling.  And what better thing to do in sort of fall-ish weather than to open the doors and windows, light some candles, put on my Anne of Green Gables soundtrack, brew some coffee and bake cinnamon scones.  Aaaahhhh, did I already say it was a delightful evening?

DSC00314

In the hour or so before the company arrived, I scurried around the house cleaning.  Honestly, it wasn’t that bad (except for the upstairs but shut the door and no one’s the wiser).  I just needed little things, the things that you get used to laying (or lying, which is it?) about – like two empty spackeling buckets in the family room and a carpet cleaner by the door and laundry by the couch – you know, little things.  😛

It was a scurry and flurry, like I said, but oh, so much fun being Susie Homemaker and feeling all domestic and stuff, preparing for my company.  (Oh, and did you know that if you need an egg while baking and you look in the frig to find NO eggs right after you got back from the grocery store and you don’t have time to go out again, you can substitute 1 1/2 tbl. water, 1 1/2 tbl. oil and 1 tsp baking powder for one egg?  Google to the rescue again!  Not sure if it would work for everything, but the scones turned out nicely, if I do say so myself.)

DSC00315

So we chat and chatted and had a grand ol’ time.  Ellie and Anna found some dress up jewelry I had in a toy box, so they were entertained for the duration.

DSC00317

DSC00318

And then they left for the night.  Caleb was gone, so I quietly cleaned up the dishes and all remnants of our girls party.  Then I poured myself another cup of coffee, sat on the couch and read a magazine before bed.

DSC00321

I think I like this Susie Homemaker stuff.

