It is so nice to take time to smell the roses, to slow down, to get out of the fast lane.  We had a wonderful few days exploring and adventuring and discovering.  Our journey took us to Albuquerque, NM where we rested and played and rested some more.  However, this vacation was more on the medium-short duration…five days until we both needed to be back to work.  We loved living in the world of traveling in the “good ol’ days” for four of those days, but on the fifth, it was time to get home…and get home as soon as possible.

Have you ever wished that you could have lived in another time period?  I asked Caleb that, and he said, “No.”  (He would say that.)  I, on the other hand, love the 1860’s, the 1870’s, the 1930’s and 1940’s and oh, so many other decades.  I always wished I could just jump back in time and live then.  Buuuut, when I think about it, I’m pretty sure it would be awful.  Why?  Because the 1860’s and ’70’s, the 1930’s and ’40’s didn’t have interstate highway.  Yes, that is what I’m grateful for, interstate highway.  On our trip, the time had come to get home, and get home we did.  Instead of taking days to arrive at our destination, we jumped onto good ol’ I-40 and then I-35, stuck in a Louis L’Amour audio book, and zippity zip, we were home in ten hours.

So, the 2010’s?  I’m happy with them!

