Today, I was going to be thankful for the working together on the roof in the blessedly cool evening or for My Man telling me that supper was delicious even when it wasn’t or the same Man encouraging me to go to the gym or something like that.  Buuuuuuut those ideas got nixed.  It’s not that I’m not grateful for them or won’t write about them in the future, ’cause they do happen regularly, but something happened that I’ve been waiting for for months.  And I was just a wee bit excited.

So we were outside getting ready to take a walk.  I put some things away in the shed from our aforementioned roofing job.  While I was back there, I decided to take a gander through the vegetable garden.  I note to myself, “Hmmmm, cilantro must be done.  Bummer.  Tomato plants are looking nice, that’s good.  I can’t figure out why these squash blossoms are shriveling up.  Could it possibly be that I need to water more?  Good luck, squash blossoms.  Maybe next year will be better.  OOooo, oop!  There’s a tomato almost ripe!  Yay!  Very soon, very soon.  I should get ba…oooh, Ohhh, OOOOHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!  CALEB!”

It was at this point, I grabbed my find and started skipping and hopping and running to the house with my arms moving in complete circles like a windmill.  (Why is it I get so weird when I get so excited?)  Running/skipping/hopping into the house with my arms still pumping around, I screech, “Look what WE have!”  My husbands eyes got slightly larger as he saw his wild wife’s arms coming toward him.  “Tomatoes!!!  We have our very own cherry tomatoes!”

It was special.  Ok?

I promptly grab the salt and pepper and go to the sink for the very first tomato bite of the season.  In the midst of my first bite, I ask The Man if he likes tomatoes by themselves.  In the middle of my second tomato bite, I forget what he answered.  As I prepared to eat the last cherry tomato, the thought occurred to me that I was going to take a picture.  So, here’s a pitiful picture of the last little wee tomato…our very first (or third).  Now I can eat it.

DSC00216