I have been tempted numerous times already this summer to say something like, “Man, it’s HOT out here.  Why does it have to be so HOT?  I’m burning up!”  Something like that.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I enjoy summer.  No, it’s not my favorite season, but it has aspects of it that, obviously, other seasons don’t have, and I like it.  I enjoy swimming in a pool when it’s 100 degrees out.  I like the fresh vegetables from a summer garden.  I love the lightning bugs and locusts during the warm summer evenings.  I relish the fact that “school year” activities has taken a break, and we have a sort of slower few months.  I do like summer.  Buuuuut, I work in an office…an air conditioned office.  When I step outside, my first reaction is to mention the heat in a kind-of-complaining way without really trying to complain.  And I haven’t gotten anywhere near a pool, so that negates one benefit of the heat.

However, I found a picture in a stack of Caleb’s papers a few months back, and that picture stops me from saying anything negative about the oppressive heat (at least most of the time it stops me).

img010 hot

It’s a picture of Caleb with some buddies on one of his tours in Iraq.  If you can’t see it, the thermometer reads 140 degrees.  Yes, I thought they put those numbers on there just to fill in the circle all the way around.  You mean it can actually go up that high?!

When I commented on it, The Man said, “Well, that was in the sun.  It really wasn’t that hot.”  Oh, so you mean it might have been 125 degrees in the shade?  And what did you guys do while you were there, sit around sipping ice cold lemonade under a shady palm tree?  And another time I asked him about the heat while wearing their full gear, whatever it’s called…you know the long sleeve coat-like tops and pants and stuff, he replied, “Well, once your completely drenched in sweat, you feel pretty good because the moisture cools you down.”  Sure it’s a wonderful system God designed, but I’d rather not try it out, thank you very much.

So, as I step into the heat today, I remember that it’s all a matter of perspective, and 101 degrees isn’t that bad after all…in fact, it’s a blessing.

Another blessing?  He’s mine, all mine.  🙂  I swoon.

img010 hottie

