Ode –

Noun

          1.) A lyric poem in the form of an address to a particular subject, often elevated in style or manner and written in varied or irregular meter.
          2.) A poem meant to be sung.

Hmmm, I didn’t know the definition of an ode. Well, I a.) don’t really write poetry and b.) cannot sing via the internet and c.) who really wants to hear me sing an ode anyway? But a title including the word “ode” just sounds delightful to me, so I shall keep the title despite the fact that this is not an ode…ummmm, did I really go on that rabbit trail??? I’m so sorry.

12 hours later…

Oh, good grief. I’ve typed and erased this post so many times. The words sounds sappy or dumb or maybe I’m just not in the writing mood. Maybe I’ll try an ode anyway. Here goes…

 

She is strong and kind; she thinks of others.

She is my mother-in-law.

She fills her life with people and a care for them.

Time for herself seems limited, if it exists at all.

DSC09852

 

She know I love flowers, that I long to fill my yard with prettiness.

She gets plants for me, asks if I’m interested, digs them up.

She also holds an appreciation for these blooming beauties.

They grow for her like they refuse to do for me, but I guess I’ll forgive them and her.

DSC09853

 

She includes me in the family with no hesitation.

She thinsk fo me when she’s shopping and sees and interesting antique…

(Because my husband said i like “strange” things – silly husband.)

She is my mother-in-law. I am blessed.

DSC09850

Yeah, an ode writer I am not. It’s “irregular” for sure, but I’ll save everyone from any attempts to sing it.

